

THE HON PAUL FLETCHER MP

Minister for Communications, Urban Infrastructure, Cities and the Arts

MEDIA RELEASE

5 November 2021

New Chair to the Council of the National Museum of Australia

The Morrison Government has appointed the Hon Warwick Smith AO as Chair of the Council of the National Museum of Australia (NMA) for a 3 year term, which commenced on 28 October 2021.

Minister for Communications, Urban Infrastructure, Cities and the Arts, the Hon Paul Fletcher MP, said Mr Smith would provide substantial leadership to the NMA Council and in turn, to Australia's creative and cultural sector.

"I congratulate Mr Smith on his appointment as Chair of the NMA Council. His appointment comes as the NMA, like many institutions across the arts and cultural sector, is on the path to recovery from the impacts of the pandemic," Minister Fletcher said.

"Mr Smith will bring his significant experience across government and the private sector, providing essential leadership to the Council supporting the NMA back to recovery, as we welcome the return of visitors."

Mr Smith is currently Chairman of the Advisory Board Australian Capital Equity, Ord Minnett and the Global Engagement Committee with the Business Council of Australia. He is a Board Director of Seven Group Holdings Ltd and Estia Health Ltd. Other corporate roles have included, Executive Director of Macquarie Bank and a Senior Managing Director of ANZ Banking Group. He was previously Chairman of Bundanon Trust, Chairman of the Australian Sports Commission, and Australia's first Telecommunications Ombudsman. He also served four terms in the Australian Parliament and was the Minister for Sport, Territories and Local Government when the Howard Government announced in December 1996 that design work could begin for the NMA. Mr Smith was also Minister in the House of Representatives for Communications, the Information Economy and the Arts and Environment.

Mr Smith has received a Centenary Medal and has twice been awarded an Order of Australia for, among others, his services to the promotion of international trade and tourism, philanthropy through a range of charitable and community organisations, and to the community.

Minister Fletcher thanked outgoing Chair Mr David Jones AM for his distinguished leadership of the NMA Council over the past 6 years, particularly during the unique and unforeseen challenges that arose from the COVID-19 pandemic. David Jones received his Member of the Order of Australia in 2021 for significant service to the museums and galleries sector, and to the community.

Media contact:

Christine Byllaardt | 0409 433 357 | Christine. Vanden Byllaardt@communications.gov.au