

## THE HON PAUL FLETCHER MP

Minister for Communications, Cyber Safety and the Arts

## MEDIA RELEASE

22 August 2020

## New taskforce to steer the arts to recovery

The Morrison Government has today established the Creative Economy Taskforce to assist in the implementation of the Government's \$250 million JobMaker plan for the creative economy and provide strategic guidance to build the sector as Australia looks to emerge from COVID-19.

Minister for Communications, Cyber Safety and the Arts, the Hon Paul Fletcher MP, said the Taskforce will work in partnership with Government and the Australia Council to provide strategic guidance on:

- implementing the JobMaker plan for the creative economy
- practical issues, such as managing physical distancing and travel
- articulating the economic and job creation contribution of the creative economy
- the role of the creative economy in Australia's recovery from COVID-19.

"The Creative Economy Taskforce will play a critical role supporting the return of Australia's vibrant, much loved arts scene following the impacts of COVID-19," Minister Fletcher said.

"The members of the Taskforce bring a breadth of experience across many aspects of our arts and cultural sector. They will bring together their extensive expertise in arts and business to inform the Government's work to support recovery efforts sector-wide.

"Elizabeth Ann Macgregor has been appointed Chair of the Taskforce and John Barrington has been appointed Deputy Chair. They bring extensive experience to the Taskforce and are joined by other highly distinguished Australians who hold senior roles within the Australian creative and cultural sector."

The Creative Economy Taskforce members are:

- Mr John Barrington AM, former Chair of the Perth Festival and experienced company director (Western Australia)
- Ms Greta Bradman, operatic and concert artist, ABC Classic presenter (Victoria/South Australia)
- Mr Adrian Collette AM, Chief Executive Officer of the Australia Council for the Arts (New South Wales)
- Mr Li Cunxin AO, Queensland Ballet's Artistic Director and former Principal Artist with the Australian Ballet (Queensland)
- Ms Rachel Healy, Joint Artistic Director of the Adelaide Festival (South Australia)
- Mr Ian Kew, Chair of the Darwin Festival and the Darwin Major Business Group (Northern

Territory)

- Ms Elizabeth Ann Macgregor OBE, Director, Museum of Contemporary Art Australia (New South Wales)
- Ms Fiona Menzies, Chief Executive Officer, Creative Partnerships Australia (Victoria)
- Ms Alison Page, entrepreneur, artist, and film and television producer (Descendant of the Walbanga and Wadi Wadi people of the Yuin nation, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales)
- Mr Paul Piticco, Co-Chief Executive Officer, Secret Sounds Group, promoter of Splendour in the Grass music festival (Queensland).
- Mr Dan Rosen, Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Recording Industry Association (New South Wales)
- Mr Chris Saines CNZM, Director of the Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art (Queensland)

The \$250 million JobMaker plan for the creative economy builds on the support that has been flowing to the sector for months through whole of government measures, including around \$100 million per month through JobKeeper and cash flow support, \$27 million in targeted support announced in April and annual investment of around \$750 million in the creative and cultural sector.

Guidelines for the RISE Fund and Sustainability Fund have been released and applications will open from 31 August 2020 and applications can be made through until 31 May 2021 (5:00pm AEST).

Eligibility criteria, guidelines and how to apply to the Government's \$50 million Temporary Interruption Fund (TIF), which is administered by Screen Australia, are available at <a href="https://www.screenaustralia.gov.au">www.screenaustralia.gov.au</a>.

The Government's \$90 million loan scheme is in advanced development with banks.

For more information visit www.arts.gov.au/covid-19-update

## **Media contact:**

Rebecca Papillo | 0439 892 771 | Rebecca.Papillo@communications.gov.au