

THE HON PAUL FLETCHER MP

Minister for Communications, Cyber Safety and the Arts

MEDIA RELEASE

20 September 2019

Reappointment of ABC and SBS Board Directors

The Morrison Government has reappointed Mr Peter Lewis as a non-executive director to the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) Board and Mr Peeyush Gupta AM as a non-executive director to the Special Broadcasting Service (SBS) Board for five years.

Mr Lewis has served on the ABC Board since October 2014 and has made a considerable contribution as Chair of the ABC Audit and Risk Committee. His extensive experience in financial management of media companies and deep industry knowledge is of significant benefit to the ABC Board. Mr Lewis' second term will commence on 2 October 2019.

Mr Gupta brings over three decades of executive experience in finance and strategy to his role as a non-executive Director on the SBS Board. His skills, background and expertise continue to be an asset to the Board. Mr Gupta's second term will commence on 16 October 2019.

Minister for Communications, Cyber Safety and the Arts, Paul Fletcher said the reappointments provide continuity and maintain strong leadership at the national broadcasters.

"I congratulate Mr Lewis and Mr Gupta on their reappointments and look forward to the valuable and ongoing contributions they will make to the ABC and SBS Boards," Minister Fletcher said.

END

Media contact: Brad Hatch | 0448 162 679 | <u>Brad.Hatch@communications.gov.au</u>